Canal aux Cygnes Noirs dans l’Isle Rottenest. Swarte Swanne Drift op’t Eiland Rottenest
This is the first image of the Swan River
This RARE and fine original copper plate engraving shows the Vlamingh expedition entering the Swan River in 1696. The first edition print was engraved by F. Valentijn and taken from Oud en Nieuw Oost-Indien published in 1726. This is a later edition engraved by Jacob van der Schley, taken from Antoine-François Prevost’s monumental 25 volume travel book titled, L’Histoire Generale des Voyages.
PUBLISHED: Pierre de Hondt’in The Hague 1758
Wilhelm de Vlamingh was given orders to set sail on the 3 May 1696 by the Dutch East India Company to explore the Great Southland and to find survivors from the wreck of the Ridderschap of Holland which the Company thought may have run aground in the vicinity. Three ships set sail from the Netherlands the Geelvinck, the Nijptangh and the Wezeltje. They discovered Rottnest Island and the Swan River in December 1696.